City Council

The City of Walnut Creek has five Council members. They are elected at large for 4-year, staggered terms; elections are held in November of each even-numbered year. The 2016-17 Walnut Creek City Council members are, from left, Mayor Pro Tem Justin Wedel, Loella Haskew, Mayor Rich Carlston, Cindy Silva and Kevin Wilk.

City Council 2017-2018 Priorities 

The City Council will be focused on four major issues in the next two years. Read the priorities here.

Council Meetings

Council meetings are held the first and third Tuesday of each month at 6 p.m. in the Council Chamber at City Hall, 1666 North Main Street. For meeting agendas and minutes, click here.

All Council meetings are televised live over Comcast Channels 28 and Channel 26 (Rossmoor), on Astound Channel 29, and on AT&T U-Verse Channel 99. The meeting broadcast is repeated in its entirety the following Saturday at 1 p.m. and Sunday at 6 p.m. on Comcast Channels 28 and 26 and on Astound Channel 29.

In addition, meetings are streamed live and archived on our Public Meetings page.

How to meet with the Mayor

To meet with the Mayor, call the City Manager's Office at (925) 256-3504. Council members may also be reached by contacting the City Manager's office. You may email comments to the Mayor at

For 2017 City Councilmember Assignments, click here.