First-Time Homebuyer Assistance Program

Overview

The City of Walnut Creek is offering interest-free equity share loans to qualifying homebuyers as part of its First-Time Homebuyer Assistance Program.


Minimum Eligibility Criteria

To be eligible to participate in the City of Walnut Creek’s First-Time Homebuyer Assistance Program, the following criteria must be met:
  1. The borrower(s) must have lived or have been working within the incorporated limits of the City for at least 90 days prior to applying for the program.
  2. The borrower(s) cannot have owned a home, nor have (jointly) owned a home within the last three years.
  3. The borrower(s) must be able to pay 1/2 of the closing costs, and put at least 3% down.
  4. The borrower(s) must: a. Make the home their principal place of residence; b. Covenant not to rent or lease the home during the period of the City loan; and c. Occupy the home within 60 days of close of escrow.
  5. Housing costs cannot exceed 35% of 110% of Area Median Income based on household size except as may be adjusted to reflect Mortgage Credit Certificates. Housing costs are defined as principle, interest, taxes, insurance and Homeowner Association (HOA) fees.
  6. For 2017, household income cannot exceed 120% of Area Median Income:
    1. $87,700/ for 1 person
    2. $100,250/2 persons
    3. $112,700/3 persons
    4. $125,300/4 persons
    5. $135,300/5 persons
    6. $145,300/6 persons
    7. $155,350/7 persons
    8. $165,400/8 persons
  7. The home to be purchased must be within the incorporated limits of the City of Walnut Creek.
  8. The borrower(s) must be able to qualify for a fixed rate, FNMA conforming, appropriately sized, first mortgage through one of the City’s participating lenders.

City Funding Criteria

  1. The City will commit up to 17% of the home sales price or the appraised value, whichever is less, but no more than $65,000 maximum per household.
  2. City funds are to be provided in the form of a deferred second mortgage secured by a Second Trust Deed bearing a return in the form of equity earnings from the appreciation of the property equal to the percentage of the purchase price that the City's Second Mortgage represents at the time of recording. The City's loan may be recorded in third position if borrower is also using CalHFA mortgage assistance.
  3. City funds can be used for any of the following: 1/2 of closing costs, up to 2% of a required 5% down payment and/or additional down payment.
  4. To the extent that a borrower has funds available for a down payment in excess of 3%, those funds shall be used first for paying closing costs that would otherwise be paid for by the City.
  5. Repayment of the Second Mortgage and any equity earnings owed shall be deferred until the earlier of (i) sale or transfer of the Home, (ii) refinance or payoff of the First Mortgage; (iii) recordation of a Third Mortgage, (iv) default of the First Mortgage, or (v) 45 years.

Back to Top

Homebuyer Counseling and Education

Homebuyer counseling is offered throughout Contra Costa County and the Bay Area. A list of agencies with HUD certified homebuyer counselors can be found here. Contra Costa County has additional resources for first-time homebuyers. 

First-time homebuyer workshops are also held online through eHome America.

For more information contact: (925) 943-5899 x 2208

Back to Top

Participating Lenders

If you meet the criteria above, you should contact one of our participating lenders to begin the loan qualification process. You will need to work with the loan company and your own real estate agent during the purchase process.

 For questions, regarding the participating lenders, please direct them to housing@walnut-creek.org

 Participating Lenders

Academy Mortgage Corporation
Chris Roberts (925) 222-6609
chris.roberts@academymortgage.com
NMLS# 670751

All California Mortgage

Lisa Andrews (925) 383-7857
landrews@allcalifornia.com
NMLS# 839860

American Financial Network

Bill Donnelly  (510) 459-7520

bdonnelly@afncorp.com

NMLS# 1202279

American Pacific Mortgage

Heather Headley (925) 357-4306

heather.headley@apmortgage.com

NMLS# 247345

Bank of America Home Loans

Don Hinton (925)-639-6508
don.hinton@bankofamerica.com
NMLS # 455106

Bay Equity Home Loans

Sherrie Fico (925) 980-4046

sfico@bayeq.com

NMLS#  264326

Caliber Home Loans

Shawn Augustus (925) 498-6192

shawn.augustus@caliberhomeloans.com

NMLS# 340838

Caliber Home Loans

Cynthia Lowary (925)783-6965

cynthia.lowary@caliberhomeloans.com

NMLS# 295272

Citywide Home Loans

Dustin Kosterow (925) 231-5190

yourlender4@gmail.com

NMLS# 1202278

CMG Financial

Matthew Barba (925)983-3155

mbarba@cmgfi.com

NMLS# 949932

Cross Country Mortgage

Bill Babcock (916) 296-7000

billy.babcock@myccmortgage.com

NMLS# 90399

Envoy Mortgage
Maria Kopf (925) 766-1971
mkopf@envoymortgage.com
NMLS # 1043430

Envoy Mortgage
Kelle Q. Murphy (925) 642-0900
kmurphy@envoymortgage.com
NMLS # 218870

Finance of America Mortgage

Tiffany Attwood (925) 525-8997

tattwood@financeofamerica.com

NMLS# 281060

Guild Mortgage Company

Susannah Hart (510) 409-1061

susannahh@guildmortgage.net

NMLS# 473612

Homestreet Bank

Clint Madison (415) 606-2244

clint@clintmadison.com

NMLS# 219274

KBHS Home Loans

Michelle Shaman (925) 549-0803

michelle@loandiva.us

NMLS# 289245
Land Home Financial
Bill Shewry (925) 765-4346
bill@lhfinancial.com
NMLS # 21134

Mountain West Financial

Kathy Gualt (909) 255-8325

kathy.gault@mwfinc.com

RPM Mortgage

Christina Pacheco (925) 216-8877

cpacheco@rpm-mtg.com

NMLS# 382828

Skyline Home Loans

Andraya Bern Coulter (925) 286-7179

loansbyandraya@gmail.com

NMLS# 254474

Summit Funding

Casey Sullivan (925) 395-4212

csullivan@summitfunding.net

NMLS# 237837

Wells Fargo

Joel Dikit (925) 998-5488

joel.dikit@wellsfargo.com

NMLS# 240507

Union Bank

Matthew Austin Townsend

matthew.townsend@unionbank.com

NMLS# 482743
Back to Top

 

Interest List for Lenders

Please correct the field(s) marked in red below:

Lenders interested in becoming Participating Lenders with Walnut Creek's First-Time Homebuyer Assistance program can sign up for our interest list to receive notifications about our annual lender training on the program and program updates.

1

Name and contact information.

 *
Name and contact information.
  1. To receive a copy of your submission, please fill out your email address below and submit.
    CAPTCHA
    Change the CAPTCHA codeSpeak the CAPTCHA code